Friday, March 30, 2012

Introducing the SFR Galaxy Awards

What is the “SFR Galaxy Awards”?

The SFR Galaxy Awards is an annual, multi-award event for science fiction romance books. Launched in 2012 by bloggers Laurie A. Green of Spacefreighters Lounge and Heather Massey of The Galaxy Express, the goal of this event is to honor a variety of standout stories.

How is this award event different?

The theme of the SFR Galaxy Awards is inclusiveness. Instead of giving an award to a single book, this event will recognize the worth of multiple books and/or the standout elements they contain. The basic philosophy behind this approach is to help connect readers with books.

Authors of the winning books will be awarded the “SFR Galaxy Awards” icon for the associated category. Naturally, they are encouraged to share this news on their sites and/or social media venues.

How does it work?

A select group of science fiction romance readers and bloggers will each create unique awards for up to 5 books released in that year. Judges will create award categories based on criteria of their own choosing. The goal is to deliver a group of awards that are fun, unique, meaningful, and informative for readers.

The awards can range from serious to fun to quirky. Examples: "Best Interstellar Kiss;" "Most Plausible Use of Technology;" “Best Worldbuilding;” “Funniest Line of Dialogue Overheard in a Space Station Bar.”

On January 31 of the following year, the awards will be posted on this blog. Additionally, the news will be shared on various social media sites.


Any science fiction romance book in any given year is eligible (published, self-published, print, digital; all lengths, subgenres, and heat levels. As long as there is a buy link and cover (including for free/discounted books), a judge can consider a book for an award).

Books released by any of the judges are ineligible.